I was born and raised in a small town called “ El Dorado “ in the state of Sinaloa in Mexico. At age 11 my parents moved the family to the state of Quintana Roo in the South of Mexico. We came to live in the area of Sergio Butron Casas near Chetumal And I have resided there since then. I went to school there and I completed high school.

I did not continue to study but I went to work in agriculture…. My parents and my brothers had a little farm where we grew sugar cane. I married my high school sweetheart at age 18. We have 3 daughters. My  wife Carmen looks after the family taco stand on week ends.  My daughter Yasmin is now married and continues to study public security. She has a baby girl named Sofia who is almost a year and a half. Daughter, Cristina has finished a technical course in administration of human resources. Anitzy, my youngest daughter is in grade six.

Due to the poor economy in Mexico, I applied to enter in the SAWP federal program. In 2005 I got a call to go to a farm in Pitt Meadows in January 2006 “ my first experience in Canada was not pleasant for me or the other workers.

We didn’t know anybody, we didn’t know the language, we didn’t have proper instructions about rules and regulations, there was nobody to orientate us to the community and our  bosses didn’t seem to care about anything but the work. The weather was not what we were used to and I got very sick but I worked everyday even when I was very sick. At the end of the season I promised myself that I would not go back to Canada. I was there for 7 months and 15 days.

In 2007 I went back for 3 months at the same place, this time there was more orientation and more guidance … human resources sent a lady from the Dominican Republic to assist us.

In 2008  I somehow got sent to a farm in the Similkameen Valley and I have been returning to the same place year after year until now….At this place I have had good opportunities to be included in the small towns of Keremeos, Cawston and Penticton.

In this area I have taken English classes and I have learned many things, I have developed friendships with Canadian and other Mexican fellow workers.

I spend 6 or 7 months in Canada , I enjoy  the work and through it I can provide a better standard of living for my family and also education for my girls.

While in Mexico I like to travel a little bit and get to know and visit other places I also like working in the sugar cane fields and in agriculture in general.

I would like to continue to work in Canada as long as I feel healthy and I am able to do the work that is required of me.